The 196th Convention of the Diocese of Georgia met November 9-11 at The Patterson in Valdosta. The theme of the Convention: Fearless Faith, Boundless Love, served as a prelude to the Revival which will be held January 20th at Honey Creek Retreat Center.

The Convention approved the 2018 budget for diocesan operations (including Honey Creek), elected persons to diocesan offices, and after debate and amendment approved on first reading a package of changes to the Constitution and Canons which will change the definition and standing of congregations from parishes and missions to parishes and aided parishes. You can find more information on the convention archived at this website.

The Servanthood Award, which is given by the deacons of the Diocese to a lay person who has served their community for many years, went to Linda Bargeman of Holy Comforter, Martinez. The Deans’ Award, which is given by the convocation deans to a lay person who has served their congregation for many years, went to Sam Spells of Christ the King, Valdosta. The Bishop’s Award, given by Bishop Benhase to lay persons who have offered many years of service to the Diocese of Georgia, was awarded to John and Phyllis Hiers of Christ Church, Valdosta.

Our Speaker
Keynote speaker Carrie Boren Headington (pictured here) walked delegates through key ways of developing an invitation strategy for their parish with clear next steps toward a plan for their church. For complete information, download Carrie’s Convention Packet found below.

The following documents remain online as references from the 196th Convention of the Episcopal Diocese of Georgia: